Abercrombie & Fitch (It's a rogue reseller!) should think of a better name for these pants.

UPDATE: Xeni says "Network Solutions Whois reveals that the abercrombie-and-fitchoutlet.com domain is owned by bizcn.com, a Chinese company. Abercrombie & Fitch Inc doesn't control any of the content."

Here's a similar case reported in The Consumerist.

  • Brainspore

    “Dammit, I told the marketing team to put out a new line of KNICKERS!”

  • http://twitter.com/mgoldbar Margaret Goldbar

    What the what…? How did this even happen?

  • Adam

    i’m guessing this isn’t an AF-sanctioned site. looks like someone trying to use their brand or maybe abuse it.

  • ChicagoD

    This is a joke right? I kept looking at the url and expecting to see the Onion or something. 

    Also, 42 pounds for pants on sale? WTF?

  • j.black

    Oh, giiiiiirl.

    “Abercrombie and Fitch brand has been attracting the young market to the greatest extent.They are in love with these products,for they perfectly suit their looks.The reason of success of A&F is the dedication,which you can see in its stitching,designs,detailing,fabric and color contrasting.It pays attention on each and every detail of the garments and accessories”

    Puke!

  • http://www.mrericsir.com MrEricSir

    These pants will go well with my i.Beat.Blaxx MP3 player.

  • http://www.xeni.net/ Xeni Jardin

    Should be noted:

    Network Solutions Whois shows that the abercrombie-and-fitchoutlet . com domain where this (totally uncool content) appears is owned by bizcn . com, a Chinese company. Abercrombie & Fitch Inc doesn’t own the site, or approve or control any of its content as they might with the official website: abercrombie . com. In other words, it’s a rogue third-party reseller in China, not Abercrombie & Fitch, that is responsible for the problem.

    [EDIT] Actually, it looks like a likely phishing site. I wouldn’t stick my credit card up in that bizness.

    • Brainspore

      Maybe the Chinese are getting a little payback on Abercrombie & Fitch for that, uh, provocative line of T-shirts they put out a couple of years ago.

    • Guy Dickinson

      Since there’s no guarantee that this site will behave even a little bit legitimately with credit cards or anything else, I think you should take this post down.

      • Navin_Johnson

        Why, were you considering buying them?

      • Guest

        Yo dawg, I heard you like emptor in your caveat, so I emptored your emptor so you can caveat while you caveat.

    • freshyill

      This site definitely seemed a little off. The SEO-bombing footer, the support link on the left, the credit card logos at the bottom. My immediate thought was the racist couch from a few years back, and how that amounted to a bad Chinese translation.

      http://www.snopes.com/racial/business/sofa.asp

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/2XWTKGXFS5M5UUCLYEAZXDS7B4 Dagny Scott

    More like “Chinese counterfeiters should probably hire at least one native English speaker”.

    • koko szanel

      They could only afford an honest one. 

  • http://twitter.com/BasjedB Bas den Bode

    I tried to chat with their customer support, but don’t get an answer when I confront them about the offending name.. 

    • mat catastrophe

       I bet you’re fun at parties.

      • http://twitter.com/BasjedB Bas den Bode

        Thanks man, it’s comments like that that really brighten my day

        • Lobster

           He had to confront you directly.  When we bring it up with your customer support we don’t get an answer.

          • http://twitter.com/BasjedB Bas den Bode

            Allright whatever, I don’t get the commenting humor I guess

          • Guest

            it is never too late Bas

  • hymenopterid

    –Reads headline–

    Racist pants? Mark, how can pants be racist?

    –Follows link–

    OK, that’s how.

  • http://twitter.com/BasjedB Bas den Bode

    “Chat session has been terminated by the site operator.”

    • mat catastrophe

       See, the problem is that you are trying to get a legitimate response from an illegitimate company.

      Let it go.

  • dmsa

    I might get a pair since I have to wait until Memorial Day to wear my Cracker White pants.

    • Guest

       it would be unseemly to do otherwise, agreed

  • SomeGuyNamedMark

    Buy a pair and get a free white hood while supplies last.

  • obeyken

     Do they have anything in a Cracker White?

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Mark-Duanburge/100000313244887 Mark Duanburge
    • Mister44

       Makes me wonder if they still use that shade in the UK? Does the n-word  have the power there that it has here.

  • LinkMan

    When terms like this sneak into Chinese dictionaries it can be very, very difficult to get them out.