Boing Boing 

The Girl With the Parrot on Her Head


Daisy Hirst's picture book about friendship, loneliness and self-reliance is shot through with delightful absurdity and illustrated with enormous wit.

Read the rest

Gardner Dozois is selling his book collection


The celebrated and decorated anthologist and editor (that's him on the right, with me and Gene Wolfe) who served at Asimov's for decades is selling off his massive collection, which he hopes to keep intact.

Read the rest

Doctoral dissertation in graphic novel form

Columbia University awarded a doctorate in education to Nick Sousanis for Unflattening, a graphic novel about the relationship between words and pictures in literature.

Read the rest

Pirate treasure is real. Here's how we found it.

A Golden Age shipwreck, the rarest of finds, lay waiting in the deep to be found. But even after hundreds of years, time can run out… Read the rest

American Gods will be a TV series

Starz has greenlit a TV series based on Neil Gaiman's outstanding contemporary fantasy novel American Gods, in which all the gods of antiquity must find their way in America, coping with modernity and new ways of believing.

Assault Troopers by Vaughn Heppner

Assault Troopers

Humanity is nearly extinct, what few survivors that remain are enslaved to murderous aliens and used as cannon fodder. Can humanity possibly outwit the aliens and win its freedom? Duh.

Read the rest

Memoir of a Mormon missionary expelled from Canada as a terrorist


Science fiction writer William Shunn is at long last releasing his memoir, The Accidental Terrorist, in book form. Revised and expanded from his popular podcast, it tells the story of how he was expelled from Canada for terrorism as a young Mormon missionary.

Read the rest

Memento Mori: the beautiful ways we have kept the dead among the living

Art historian Paul Koudounaris travelled the world, visiting 30 countries to document the practices—ancient to modern, solemn to joyous—by which human remains are displayed. From good luck charms to genocide memorials, his gorgeous art book Memento Mori collects the finds.Read the rest

Library at Mount Char: urban fantasy that has the magic

Scott Hawkins's debut horror novel, The Library at Mount Char, is a sprawling, epic contemporary fantasy about cruelty and the end of the world, compulsively readable, with the deep, resonant magic of a world where reality is up for grabs.Read the rest

Kate Milford's Greenglass House: lyrical, tense YA mystery

Kate Milford made a name as a young adult writer able to tap into a rich Bradburian vein of lyricism with the Boneshaker -- now she shows us that she's an expect mystery writer as well, in Greenglass House, an illustrated middle-grades novel that will keep you guessing.Read the rest

Man Who Sold the Moon wins the Sturgeon Award!


This weekend, my short story "The Man Who Sold the Moon" won the The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, a juried prize for the best science fiction story of the year.

Read the rest

Terry Pratchett's daughter says she will not write or authorize more Discworld books

Rhianna Pratchett's announced that The Shepherd's Crown will be the last Discworld novel, because "They are sacred to dad."

Read the rest

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes

The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from.

Read the rest

Fun Orwell facts!


14 bits of interesting trivia about Nineteen Eighty-Four, including the fact that he was under surveillance for his communist sympathies while he wrote it.

Read the rest

What games must learn from children's books

A designer studies her favorite works of play and picture to explain what's missing from many modern video gamesRead the rest

Mike Smith's The Last Praetorian, free for Kindle

The Last Praetorian (The Redemption Trilogy Book 1)

Mike Smith's space opera, The Last Praetorian, is a rollicking space romance.

Read the rest

Bullitt: How many times can I watch this Steve McQueen movie?

225px-Bullitt_poster

I'm sick. One of the things that makes me feel better is to watch Bullitt, a movie starring a 1968 Ford Mustang GT, and Steve McQueen.

Read the rest