Boing Boing 

'Ant Man' as a 1950s Monster Movie narrated by Vincent Price

We would see the hell out of this movie at the drive-in. A wonderful remix by Vulture.

Read the rest

Joker hand-mask


[Source] (via Neatorama)

Calvin and Markov: text-chaining new, weird computer humor


Josh Millard's Calvin and Markov uses a small perl script to mine transcripts of Calvin and Hobbes strips using Markov chains to make new, weird, computer humor.

Read the rest

Canada's brave resistance versus America's giant killer robots


Brian K "Saga" Vaughan's new comic We Stand On Guard pits plucky Canadian guerrillas against an invading army of killer American mechas.

Read the rest

Fantasy Sports: dungeon crawl ends in epic, eldritch basketball game

In Fantasy Sports No. 1, a berzerker adventurer and his spellslinging, underappreciated apprentice go on a dungeon crawl that takes them into an eldritch game of basketball -- for the highest stakes imaginable.Read the rest

Short box pins

1" x 1", $6 at LA's Secret Headquarters, who note, "Anyone who gets it really gets it, ya know?"

Brian Wood's Starve: get to your comic shop now!


Brian "DMZ" Wood's new comic from IMAGE is Starve, and issue one, which just hit shelves at your local comic shop is the strongest start since Warren Ellis's Transmetropolitan.

Read the rest

Last Man 2: epic French manga gets even better

In March 2015, Firstsecond books published its English translation of the first volume of Lastman, the spectacularly successful French martial arts comic; they're bringing out the rest of the books on an aggressive schedule, with Book 2: The Royal Cup coming out today.Read the rest

Doctoral dissertation in graphic novel form

Columbia University awarded a doctorate in education to Nick Sousanis for Unflattening, a graphic novel about the relationship between words and pictures in literature.

Read the rest

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes

The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from.

Read the rest

Comic strip has its finale every day

x 2015-06-10 at 5.07.17 PM Sad to see it go! (Be sure to click "previously") [Thanks, Glenn!]

May Contain Peanuts: grim philosophical remixes of Charles Schulz funnies

tumblr_nnvg1dcD7s1teopyyo1_1280

A Tumblog of Greatness: may-contain-peanuts.tumblr.com.

Read the rest

Drawn and Quarterly's mammoth twenty-fifth anniversary collection


776 pages commemorating a quarter-century of Canada's outstanding, astounding indie comics press, including essays by Margaret Atwood, Jonathan Lethem and Lemony Snicket, and featuring seminal stories from Jillian Tamaki, Chris Ware, Adrian Tomine, and Art Spiegelman.

Read the rest

Dragons Beware: Claudette's back in the sequel to Giants Beware!

2012's Giants Beware introduced Claudette and her adventuring pals in one of the strongest, funniest YA graphic novels I've ever enjoyed; the followup, Dragons Beware keeps all the charm and excitement while advancing the story.Read the rest

Gorgeous custom science fiction jewelry


Pittsburgh's Paul Michael Bierker is a jeweler who makes incredible, nerdy rings and other jewelry, from the Tie Fighter engagement rings to the Han Solo in Carbonite rings (also available as a pendant).

Read the rest

Comics Connector: matching comics professionals with teachers/librarians for visits

Charles from the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund writes, "Comic Book Legal Defense Fund continues the celebration of Children's Book Week by launching its newest resource -- the Comics Connector, a directory that connects educators and librarians with comics professionals who are able to provide classroom/library visits."

Kickstarting a second Oh Joy Sex Toy collection


The first collection of the smashing, sex-positive webcomic was such a success, they're doing it again!

Read the rest