Watch Adam Savage and astronaut Chris Hadfield cosplay at Comic-Con


Every year, our friend Adam Savage of Mythbusters and Tested walks the Comic-Con floor completely disguised by his costume and makes a video about it. This year, he was joined by astronaut Chris Hadfield and they both wore spacesuits like those in 2001: A Space Odyssey. Read the rest

Bloom County to return for 2016 election cycle

It's been 25 years since Berkeley Breathed retired from writing and drawing Bloom County, but in a new Facebook post, he indicates that the 2016 election cycle is too tempting an occasion for satire to sit out. Read the rest

Mobile ad

'Ant Man' as a 1950s Monster Movie narrated by Vincent Price

We would see the hell out of this movie at the drive-in.

Joker hand-mask

[Source] (via Neatorama) Read the rest

Calvin and Markov: text-chaining new, weird computer humor

Josh Millard's Calvin and Markov uses a small perl script to mine transcripts of Calvin and Hobbes strips using Markov chains to make new, weird, computer humor. Read the rest

Canada's brave resistance versus America's giant killer robots

Brian K "Saga" Vaughan's new comic We Stand On Guard pits plucky Canadian guerrillas against an invading army of killer American mechas. Read the rest

Fantasy Sports: dungeon crawl ends in epic, eldritch basketball game

In Fantasy Sports No. 1, a berzerker adventurer and his spellslinging, underappreciated apprentice go on a dungeon crawl that takes them into an eldritch game of basketball -- for the highest stakes imaginable.
Mobile ad

Brian Wood's Starve: get to your comic shop now!

Brian "DMZ" Wood's new comic from IMAGE is Starve, and issue one, which just hit shelves at your local comic shop is the strongest start since Warren Ellis's Transmetropolitan. Read the rest

Last Man 2: epic French manga gets even better

In March 2015, Firstsecond books published its English translation of the first volume of Lastman, the spectacularly successful French martial arts comic; they're bringing out the rest of the books on an aggressive schedule, with Book 2: The Royal Cup coming out today.

Doctoral dissertation in graphic novel form


Columbia University awarded a doctorate in education to Nick Sousanis for Unflattening, a graphic novel about the relationship between words and pictures in literature. Read the rest

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes


The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from. Read the rest

Comic strip has its finale every day

Sad to see it go! (Be sure to click "previously") [Thanks, Glenn!] Read the rest

May Contain Peanuts: grim philosophical remixes of Charles Schulz funnies

A tumblog of greatness.

Drawn and Quarterly's mammoth twenty-fifth anniversary collection

776 pages commemorating a quarter-century of Canada's outstanding, astounding indie comics press, including essays by Margaret Atwood, Jonathan Lethem and Lemony Snicket, and featuring seminal stories from Jillian Tamaki, Chris Ware, Adrian Tomine, and Art Spiegelman. Read the rest

Dragons Beware: Claudette's back in the sequel to Giants Beware!

2012's Giants Beware introduced Claudette and her adventuring pals in one of the strongest, funniest YA graphic novels I've ever enjoyed; the followup, Dragons Beware keeps all the charm and excitement while advancing the story. Read the rest

More posts