Boing Boing 

Kickstarting new music from Sassafrass, who created the insanely great Icelandic saga opera

I wrote about sf writer and historian Ada Palmer's music before -- heart-stoppingly beautiful music about space and Icelandic gods -- and now's your chance to help bring more of it to life.

Read the rest

WAS: a new edition of Geoff Ryman's World Fantasy-nominated Oz novel


The novel tore my heart out in 1992: a contrafactual memoir of L Frank Baum; a desperately poor girl called Dorothy Gael from Manhattan, KS; and a makeup artist on the set of the classic MGM film.

Read the rest

Borges's widow threatens remixer with prison

Argentina's crazy copyright laws provide for prison sentences for "intellectual property fraud" -- in this case, rewriting a Borges short story in Borgesian fashion and publishing it in a super-limited underground press edition of 300.

Read the rest

Crazy, Frazetta-esque vintage cologne ad

Matt writes, "This is awesomeness beyond awesome. Magic swords, barbarians, crazy, nausea-inducing camera angles, pterodactyls... If 'Heavy Metal' needed a personal scent, it would be this."

Shadowshaper: outstanding supernatural YA contemporary fantasy

Daniel José Older's debut novel Shadowshaper is a thrilling supernatural YA novel with a diverse, likable cast of characters whose peril can only be averted through acceptance, true friendship and an embrace of their identity.Read the rest

Winners of the 2015 Locus Awards!

The winners from last night's Locus Awards Banquet in Seattle have been announced:

Read the rest

Why the Healer deserves to be a Hero

We talk with author Beth Cato, author of The Clockwork Dagger, about why healers are never the hero in genre fiction and how she decided to change that. We also press her for baked brie recipes and discover how the Foo Fighters helped shape Octavia Leander.

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/210851402" params="color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false" width="100%" height="166" iframe="true" /]

The Sword and Laser (S&L) is a science fiction and fantasy-themed book club podcast hosted by Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt. The main goal of the club is to build a strong online community of science fiction / fantasy buffs, and to discuss and enjoy books of both genres. For show notes and previous episodes, head here. You can also help support us on Patreon!

American Gods will be a TV series

Starz has greenlit a TV series based on Neil Gaiman's outstanding contemporary fantasy novel American Gods, in which all the gods of antiquity must find their way in America, coping with modernity and new ways of believing.

Library at Mount Char: urban fantasy that has the magic

Scott Hawkins's debut horror novel, The Library at Mount Char, is a sprawling, epic contemporary fantasy about cruelty and the end of the world, compulsively readable, with the deep, resonant magic of a world where reality is up for grabs.Read the rest

Kate Milford's Greenglass House: lyrical, tense YA mystery

Kate Milford made a name as a young adult writer able to tap into a rich Bradburian vein of lyricism with the Boneshaker -- now she shows us that she's an expect mystery writer as well, in Greenglass House, an illustrated middle-grades novel that will keep you guessing.Read the rest

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes

The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from.

Read the rest

Lessons from Pratchett


A beautiful list, including "[T]he innocent had everything to fear, mostly from the guilty but in the longer term even more from those who say things like 'The innocent have nothing to fear'.”

Read the rest

Congratulations to the 2014 Nebula Award winners!

Best novel: Annihilation;, Jeff VanderMeer; Novella "Yesterday’s Kin," Nancy Kress; Novelette “A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i,” Alaya Dawn Johnson; Short story “Jackalope Wives,” Ursula Vernon; Movie Guardians of the Galaxy; YA Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson.

Read the rest

This Towel Day, remember Terry Pratchett, too

May 25th is celebrated around the world as Towel Day in Douglas Adams's honor; this year, fans are remembering another beloved, departed giant of the field by wearing lilac sprigs (cf Nightwatch) with their towels

Read the rest

Dragons Beware: Claudette's back in the sequel to Giants Beware!

2012's Giants Beware introduced Claudette and her adventuring pals in one of the strongest, funniest YA graphic novels I've ever enjoyed; the followup, Dragons Beware keeps all the charm and excitement while advancing the story.Read the rest

Last Man: France's amazing martial arts fantasy comic comes to the Anglosphere

Lastman, the revolutionary, bestselling French comic created by Bastien Vivès, Michaël Sanlaville and Balak, arrives in the Anglosphere today, thanks to Firstsecond's English language edition of volume 1: The Stranger. Read the rest

In fantasy worlds, historical accuracy is a lie

The mythical realms of Dragon Age grow beautifully with the telling, including their representation of Earthly minorities. Even so, something's missing...Read the rest