Library at Mount Char: urban fantasy that has the magic

bg
Scott Hawkins's debut horror novel, The Library at Mount Char, is a sprawling, epic contemporary fantasy about cruelty and the end of the world, compulsively readable, with the deep, resonant magic of a world where reality is up for grabs.

Kate Milford's Greenglass House: lyrical, tense YA mystery

bg1
Kate Milford made a name as a young adult writer able to tap into a rich Bradburian vein of lyricism with the Boneshaker -- now she shows us that she's an expect mystery writer as well, in Greenglass House, an illustrated middle-grades novel that will keep you guessing.

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes

ewrigeroireger6

The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from. Read the rest

Lessons from Pratchett

A beautiful list, including "[T]he innocent had everything to fear, mostly from the guilty but in the longer term even more from those who say things like 'The innocent have nothing to fear'.” Read the rest

Congratulations to the 2014 Nebula Award winners!

Best novel: Annihilation;, Jeff VanderMeer; Novella "Yesterday’s Kin," Nancy Kress; Novelette “A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i,” Alaya Dawn Johnson; Short story “Jackalope Wives,” Ursula Vernon; Movie Guardians of the Galaxy; YA Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson. Read the rest

This Towel Day, remember Terry Pratchett, too

May 25th is celebrated around the world as Towel Day in Douglas Adams's honor; this year, fans are remembering another beloved, departed giant of the field by wearing lilac sprigs (cf Nightwatch) with their towels Read the rest

Dragons Beware: Claudette's back in the sequel to Giants Beware!

thumb
2012's Giants Beware introduced Claudette and her adventuring pals in one of the strongest, funniest YA graphic novels I've ever enjoyed; the followup, Dragons Beware keeps all the charm and excitement while advancing the story. Read the rest

Last Man: France's amazing martial arts fantasy comic comes to the Anglosphere

Lastman, the revolutionary, bestselling French comic created by Bastien Vivès, Michaël Sanlaville and Balak, arrives in the Anglosphere today, thanks to Firstsecond's English language edition of volume 1: The Stranger.

In fantasy worlds, historical accuracy is a lie

NOTEUROPE
The mythical realms of Dragon Age grow beautifully with the telling, including their representation of Earthly minorities. Even so, something's missing...

Sending Terry Pratchett home with HTTP headers

In Terry Pratchett's novel Going Postal, an allegory about the creation of an Internet-like telegraph system called "the clacks," workers who die in the line of duty have their names "sent home," by being transmitted up and down the line in the system's signalling layer ("A man is not dead while his name is still spoken"). Read the rest

Hilarious, bawdy princess rap battles

Youtube sensation Whitney Avalon has a brilliant new entry to her amazing Rap Battles series: a rude, hilarious battle between Belle and Cinderella, starring Buffy's Sarah Michelle Gellar. Read the rest

RIP, Terry Pratchett

391887941_19484b1311_b

Terry Pratchett, a treasure of a writer, a gem of a human being, and a credit to our species, has died, far too soon, at the age of 66. Read the rest

Earl Norem's Conan

Norem's art set the tone of hyper-macho pulp men's magazines in the sixties, and he carried the style over to Marvel's Savage Sword of Conan, with barbarian-and-babe covers that oozed testosterone and unreconstructed chauvinism. Read the rest

Kelly Link talks about her new short story collection

David writes, "Whenever I ask guests of Between The Covers who their touchstone writers are, nobody is more often mentioned than Kelly Link. We talk (MP3) doppelgangers, rorschach tests, finding one's authentic mask, Basho, Buffy, weird writing rituals, and about her latest (and perhaps greatest) new collection Get in Trouble." Read the rest

Fan films and the future of fantasy

DPP_0235_LR
Small productions are becoming better—and more professional—than ever. But the falling price of good equipment is only part of the magic.

Audiobook of Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town

Blackstone has adapted my 2005 urban fantasy novel Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town for audiobook, narrated by Bronson Pinchot, who does a stunning job. Read the rest

Razorhurst: blood-drenched gang warfare and ghosts in Gilded Age Sydney

Justine Larbalestier's Razorhurst is an historical novel that skilfully weaves in a ghost story that puts the action of gang-warfare exactly where it belongs: in the relationship between the living and the dead.

More posts