Boing Boing 

WATCH: Girl limbo skates record distance under 6-inch hurdles

Indian limbo skater Little Rithika set a crazy new record after skating 60 meters while staying under 21 bars set just 15cm (~6 inches) high.

Read the rest

Shadowshaper: outstanding supernatural YA contemporary fantasy

Daniel José Older's debut novel Shadowshaper is a thrilling supernatural YA novel with a diverse, likable cast of characters whose peril can only be averted through acceptance, true friendship and an embrace of their identity.Read the rest

David Byrne and St Vincent celebrate Color Guard with astounding Contemporary Color show

David Byrne and St Vincent are touring Contemporary Color, a concert accompanied by a huge, choreographed color guard show.

Read the rest

Last Man 2: epic French manga gets even better

In March 2015, Firstsecond books published its English translation of the first volume of Lastman, the spectacularly successful French martial arts comic; they're bringing out the rest of the books on an aggressive schedule, with Book 2: The Royal Cup coming out today.Read the rest

The Girl With the Parrot on Her Head


Daisy Hirst's picture book about friendship, loneliness and self-reliance is shot through with delightful absurdity and illustrated with enormous wit.

Read the rest

LED cloud lights


The battery-powered LED cloud is handmade in Australia and projects a moon and stars on the ceiling above.

Read the rest

Daddy daughter beatboxing

La Guardia Cross, a first-time dad, lays down some fat beats with his 7-month-old baby girl.

Read the rest

Kids can build their own games with this nifty block toy

bloxels

Bloxels lets kids design playable spaces using physical blocks on a grid—that can then be captured by a tablet device and translated into a real digital game. The creator, Pixel Press, says it's like "coding with Lego."

Read the rest

Stroller on a longboard


Quinny -- a high-end stroller-maker -- has announced a limited run of strollers mounted on longboards, capable of supporting adults up to 100kg and kids up to 15kg.

Read the rest

Kate Milford's Greenglass House: lyrical, tense YA mystery

Kate Milford made a name as a young adult writer able to tap into a rich Bradburian vein of lyricism with the Boneshaker -- now she shows us that she's an expect mystery writer as well, in Greenglass House, an illustrated middle-grades novel that will keep you guessing.Read the rest

Unicorn on a Roll: more comics in the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes

The first collection starring Phoebe and her unicorn friend Marigold Heavenly Nostrils was the strongest new syndicated strip I'd read in years; with Unicorn on a Roll, Dana Simpson demonstrates that she's got plenty more where that came from.

Read the rest

Roscoe the Goldendoodle rides off on his ATV like he's not even a dog (but he is)

You can't fool us, Roscoe you rascal you.

Read the rest

Princess Penelope Pricklepants the pretty little pygmy hedgehog

11901479154_5b1ca8abcf_k

Portraits of the lovely Princess Penelope Pricklepants, shared in the Boing Boing Flickr Pool by Boing Boing reader Steven Bach.

Read the rest

UK schools using spyware to monitor students' ideology

The software monitors students' communications looking for "extremist" language like "jihobbyist," "YODO" (you only die once), and "jihadi bride."

Read the rest

Culturing the critters on an 8-year-old's hand


Tasha Sturm, a lab tech, sampled her 8 year old son's hand when he came in from playing outside in an agar medium, then cultured the microbes that came off in the dish.

Read the rest

“Conversations with my Toddler” video series, in which grown man plays role of little girl

convo

Matthew Clarke created a long-runnning video series of actual conversations he had with his daughter, who was 2 when his web video project began.

Read the rest

Scratch creators around the world collaborate on "I'd like to teach the world to code"

Mitchel Resnick, founder of the amazing, kid-friendly programming project Scratch, writes, "Scratch community members from around the world joined together to create a collaborative project: 'I'd like to teach the world to code.'"

Read the rest