OFF! - “Void You Out” (free MP3)

Sound it Out # 67: Off!  - “Void You Out” (free MP3)

 The men of OFF! have some harcore credentials...literally. Even though members Keith Morris (singer for Circle Jerks and Black Flag), Steven MacDonald (bassist for Redd Kross), Dmitri Coats (singer for Burning Brides) and Mario Rubalcaba (drummer for Rocket from the Crypt and Hot Snakes) have lives and children and responsibilities now, they obviously haven’t left behind their joy of stripped down thrash rock.

OFF! has a new album of old-school punk rock gems called Wasted Years coming out on April 8, and all 16 songs on it were recorded and written live in the studio. It’s kind of funny to think about, but OFF! are professionals. They’re the punk equivalent of studio musicians and it’s easy to imagine them spitballing songs and getting right down to the business of punching you in the face with their music.

“Void You Out” clocks in at a little over a minute, but packs in all the fury and melody one could want. Get it below.

  Read the rest

OFF! - "King Kong Brigade" (MP3 download)

Sound it Out # 23: OFF! - "King Kong Brigade"

OFF! is a band full of Southern California punk rock royalty: Keith Morris (Black Flag, Circle Jerks), Dimitri Coats (Burning Brides), Steven McDonald (Redd Kross) and Mario Rubalcaba (Hot Snakes/Earthless/Rocket From The Crypt). Their new, self-titled  album comes out on May 8. It has sixteen songs and is sixteen minutes long. So at 1:36, "King Kong Brigade" is relatively epic.

The OFF! record also boasts excellent cover art by Raymond Pettibon

Download "King Kong Brigade" and rock the fuck out.

  Read the rest