The 90th anniversary of the 19th amendment in Mississippi will be in 2074

Today is the 90th anniversary of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution—which granted women the right to vote and be just as disappointed in their choices at the ballot box as men. Delightfully, while most of the states ratified the amendment in 1919 and 1920, 10 states either initially rejected the measure, or simply put it off altogether. (Federal law trumped, so women could still vote in the 10 holdout states, even before they got around to ratification.) Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and Alabama had all ratified by the mid 1950s. Florida signed on in 1969. The Carolinas, Georgia and Louisiana all agreed that women should be able to vote during the 1970s. Mississippi held out until 1984. (Via hectocotyli)