Kevin Kelly and I interviewed Douglas Coupland about the tools he uses

In 1993, when Kevin Kelly and I were both editors at Wired, Douglas Coupland spent a few weeks at the office. The entire staff fell in love with him. He had a wicked sense of humor, came up with brilliantly sideways ideas, and was very kind to everyone. When we ran his short story in Wired, "Microserfs," he send a bouquet of flowers to everyone in the office.

I haven't spoken to Doug in years, so it was a great treat to get on the phone with him and catch up. He is still as funny and smart as ever. He is the artist-in-residence at the Google Paris Office, and the phone connection was poor, but it is worth listening to. You can read the show notes and the transcript at Cool Tools.

Also, let me recommend Doug's new book, The Age of Earthquakes: A Guide to the Extreme Present, which he wrote with Hans Ulbricht, and Shumon Basar. We discuss it in the podcast. Fans of Marshall McLuhan and Quentin Fiore will love it. Snippets: "Technology favors horrible people," "Machines are increasingly talking about you behind your back," "Hoard anything you can't download," "Poor famous people are depressing," "Knowing everything turns out to be slightly boring." Read the rest

75 Years of Marvel Comics: From the Golden Age to the Silver Screen

There is a certain novelty in trying to leaf through a book that is bigger and heavier than the coffee table it rests on. Thankfully, the hernia is worth it, with Marvel teaming up with Taschen and putting out a gorgeous repository of comic book history guided by Marvel Comics veteran, Roy Thomas. The book thankfully takes advantage of its massive size, reprinting iconic scenes from Marvel’s history in the original large format that artists draw their pages. This allows the reader to be able to enjoy the details hitherto not possible, especially for those images from older issues which suffered from poor production and printing processes. Definitely a purchase well worth it for anyone who is interested in seeing how much the company has changed over these past 75 years. However, you should be warned that the information within is so engrossing that loss of blood-flow to your legs may happen thanks to the mighty book’s weight! – Ahmed Bhuiyan

See sample pages from this book at Wink. Read the rest

Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection as a $0.99 Kindle ebook

You can get all these Sherlock Holmes stories and novels for free, because they are in the public domain, but I was happy to pay ninety-nine cents for the convenience of this X-Ray enabled Kindle edition, which has 56 short stories and four novels by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Sherlock Holmes: the Complete Collection

Read the rest

Jamie Hyneman tries to trim the tops of trees with a quadcopter

Jamie Hyneman attached a rotating saw blade to a quadcopter and tried topping some trees with it. It didn't really work, but it was worth a try! Read the rest

Dublin paper shop transforms anti-LGBT hate pamphlets into fun confetti

Now this is brilliant. Read the rest

Florida men attempt to steal honey, are attacked by 30,000 honeybees

Sometimes, justice is swift and sweet.

Video: Baby Burble Babble

Abababa burble burbbb bubba abababa bubb.

This is not a chameleon. It's a hyperrealistic body painting on two women.

Mindblowing work by Johannes Stötter. Read the rest

Stunning animated video for French electropop artist ALB's 'The Road'

'The Road,' by Clément Daquin aka ALB. Read the rest

The cast of Twin Peaks created a video urging Showtime to re-hire David Lynch

“There's no Twin Peaks without David Lynch.”

Video: The amazing flipbook art of Scott Blake

Artist Scott Blake creates flipbooks, a wonderful art form which simulates animation--and some use nothing more than punched holes to create the illusion of moving images. Read the rest

Homer Simpson, the Trap remix

My only complaint: should be longer. Read the rest

Ant City

This log, spotted in Ohio's Hocking Hills park, has prior occupants. Read the rest

This simple comic strip concisely explains the complexities of white privilege

A new comic from Barry Deutsch of Lefty Cartoons called “Bob And Race” lays out some of the many factors that contribute to white people's many taken-for-granted advantages.

I fixed this painting

Yep. In fact, this would fix every painting.

'Parks and Rings' Tumblr hilariously combines Lord of the Rings with Parks and Recreation

Both feature eclectic groups of friends coming together for the greater good, and both ensembles offer plenty of sassy personalities.

Humans of New York documents NYC’s Easter Parade

The parade has become something of a costume circus in recent decades, and Staton captures both the outfits and the personalities of this year’s participants.

More posts