Following up on Colorado Governor Jared Polis' June 9, 2022 "100 ways" to save you money initiative, a new landmark bipartisan law (House Bill 22-1055) was signed on August 8, 2022. The effective start date is unclear, but Feminine hygiene/period products and diapers will be indefinitely exempt from state sales and use tax on either August 10, 2022 or January 1, 2023. The new House Bill 22-1055 law codifies:
(2) The following are exempt from taxation under part 1 of this article 26:
(k) All sales of nonprescription drugs or materials when furnished by a practitioner as part of professional services provided to a patient;
(l) All sales of corrective eyeglasses, contact lenses, or hearing aids; AND
(m) (I) ALL SALES OF PERIOD PRODUCTS PURCHASED ON AND AFTER JANUARY 1, 2023.
The Denver Gazette reported details on the current usage and projected impact House Bill 22-1055 will create earlier:
"Colorado families spend an average of $15 per month on period products per family member who needs them, according to the Women's Foundation of Colorado. For diapers, families spend approximately $75 per month per child. The state estimates the new tax exemption will save Colorado consumers approximately $9.1 million annually."