Marijuana isn't kosher for Passover

Israel's pro-marijuana party has just announced that it believes that pot isn't kosher for Passover:

Biblical laws prohibit eating leavened foods during Passover, replacing bread with flat crackers called matza. Later injunctions by European rabbis extended those rules to forbid other foods like beans and corn, and more recent rulings have further expanded the ban to include hemp seeds, which today are found in some health oils _ and in marijuana.

Green Leaf is a small political party that supports the legalization of marijuana. Although it is by no means a Jewish religious authority, the group decided to warn its observant supporters away from the drug on Passover.


(Thanks, WizardMi!)

Update: Carl sez, "students are giving up MySpace for Lent."