New 7 Wonders of the World

A new seven wonders of the world were announced on Friday. The wonders were selected by a global online and SMS poll conducted by a nonprofit called New7Wonders. The new list: Chichén Itzá, Mexico; Christ Redeemer, Brazil; The Great Wall, China; Machu Picchu, Peru; Petra, Jordan; The Roman Colloseum, Italy; The Taj Mahal, India.

Chichen Itza

Christ Redeemer


Machu Picchu-1

Rtemagicc Petra 01.Jpg

Rtemagicc Colosseum 01.Jpg

Rtemagicc Taj Mahal 01.Jpg

From the Associated Press:

The seven beat out 14 other nominated landmarks, including the Eiffel Tower, Easter Island in the Pacific, the Statue of Liberty, the Acropolis, Russia's Kremlin and Australia's Sydney Opera House.

The pyramids of Giza, the only surviving structures from the original seven wonders of the ancient world, were assured of retaining their status in addition to the new seven after indignant Egyptian officials said it was a disgrace they had to compete…

The traditional seven wonders were concentrated in the Mediterranean and Middle East. That list was derived from lists of marvels compiled by ancient Greek observers, the best known being Antipater of Sidon, a writer in the 2nd century B.C.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Pharos lighthouse off Alexandria have all vanished.

Link to AP article, Link to (Thanks, Jennifer Lum!)