Skyjacker D.B. Cooper living like royalty in Nepal, and other tabloid stunners

bloids21111

[My friend Peter Sheridan is a Los Angeles-based correspondent for British national newspapers. He has covered revolutions, civil wars, riots, wildfires, and Hollywood celebrity misdeeds for longer than he cares to remember. As part of his job, he must read all the weekly tabloids. For the past couple of years, he's been posting terrific weekly tabloid recaps on Facebook and has graciously given us permission to run them on Boing Boing. Enjoy! - Mark]

Why let facts get in the way of a good story?

Princess Diana was assassinated with a lethal injection administered by a British agent on the orders of Prince Charles, who could face murder charges, concludes an “explosive new autopsy” conducted “after her body was exhumed last year,” reports the Globe.

Only one problem with the story. Diana’s body has never been exhumed. So there’s no new autopsy report, and no murder charges. In fact, her grave has been allowed to grow over with foliage and return to nature, giving the lie to any “secret” exhumation.

The Globe's laissez-faire attitude to facts is summed up in its story on the CIA’s “X-Files” allegedly proving that “UFOs are visiting Earth.” Tucked away in the final paragraph is a so-called "intelligence insider” saying: “While these reports don’t actually confirm the sightings - they sure don’t disprove them either.”

It’s a philosophy evident in the Globe's “world exclusive” interview with fugitive jet hijacker D. B. Cooper, missing for 44 years since he parachuted from a plane over Oregon with $200,000 in ransom money. Read the rest

A home, a murder, a mystery (or two)

IMG_2949

Up in the manicured hills of Los Feliz, a neighborhood that boasts at least three famous murder houses, the one with the weirdest history may be the Perelson house... where, deep in the night of December 6, 1959, a husband and father of three lost his fragile grip and went terribly, shockingly crazy. But the story only starts there.

Why did Harold Perelson snap? What does it mean when, without warning, the safety of a family home is shattered from within? And how do you explain what's happened to the house since? 

This week on HOME: Stories From L.A., a mystery that's endured for almost 60 years, and the crime that set it in motion. 

Thanks for listening. And if you like what you hear, please subscribeRead the rest

Last-Minute Valentine's Day Gifts

valentine-roses
Last-Minute Gifts for Lovers

Share this on Twitter and Facebook.

Where available we use affiliate links, which help support Boing Boing. Thank you for clicking.

Silver heart pill container pendant / $100

Compartment will fit 6 small antipsychotic pills comfortably.

The Womanizer: comes with a "100% orgasm guarantee"

It's not a vibrator. It's a gadget that suckles the clitoris. Vanessa Marin, a licensed psychotherapist specializing in sex therapy, said it "induces powerful orgasms in a shockingly short amount of time." — Mark

Square, lightweight plastic flask from Stanley

Sturdy, multicolored flasks that go around the world with you, perfect for a sneaky V-day cocktail with your sweetie (Previously) — Cory

Concrete Park: apocalyptic, afrofuturistic graphic novel of greatness

Concrete Park is a beautifully told war-comic in the tradition of DMZ and Transmetropolitan, but with an even more ambitious storyline, filled with so many warring factions, crosses and double-crosses, and general badassery that it's a good thing that the creators chose to use such stylish infographics, textual notes, and visual tricks to make sense of it all (Previously) — Cory

Laser-cut birchwood landscape rings / $24

Beautiful landscape rings to mix and match from Britain—there are houses, trees and mountains (there's also an acrylic tsunami). Read more — Cory

Sex and Drugs: A Journey Beyond Limits

A classic book of blissed-out altered consciousness by Boing Boing patron saint Robert Anton Wilson. — Mark

Flashing LED Heart Kit / $10

Solder up a special something for your loved one or, better yet, have a romantic maker date and do it yourselves. Read the rest

Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders win New Hampshire primaries

[Reuters]

Hold on to your wigs, people, the 2016 U.S. presidential race is about to get even weirder. Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders are the winners of the New Hampshire primaries.

Read the rest

VALENTINE'S WILCOCK: John meets Amber (his future wife)

valentines-wilcock

A book of John Wilcock comics is now available

Read the rest

Reflections, 20 years Later, on A Declaration of the Independence of Cyberspace

image

Does Cyberspace Exist? Is It Free?

Read the rest

The Android’s Prehistoric Menagerie

bg
We're pleased to present a story from Mothership Zeta, a new ezine from Escape Artists focused on fun science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Fun doesn’t necessarily mean “funny,” and stories can have conflict and darker elements, but they publish stories that leave the reader satisfied, usually in a positive way.

It Isn't Even Past: location scouting the secret history of Rudy Valentino with Tim Powers

g
In Medusa's Web, fantasy grandmaster Tim Powers presents us with another of his amazing secret histories, this one of Rudolph Valentino. In this guest editorial, Powers -- author of many of Boing Boing's favorite novels, including the World Fantasy Award winning Last Call, Hide Me Among the Graves, and Dinner at Deviant's Palace -- explains the genesis of his latest book, and takes us with him for his field-research.

Tabloids: Drunk Obama resigns, Sanders is a Russian spy, Unabomber has a baby

bloids21111

[My friend Peter Sheridan is a Los Angeles-based correspondent for British national newspapers. He has covered revolutions, civil wars, riots, wildfires, and Hollywood celebrity misdeeds for longer than he cares to remember. As part of his job, he must read all the weekly tabloids. For the past couple of years, he's been posting terrific weekly tabloid recaps on Facebook and has graciously given us permission to run them on Boing Boing. Enjoy! - Mark]

It’s America’s worst nightmare.

Faced with the existential threats of terrorism, global warming, nuclear proliferation and Donald Trump, the National Enquirer reports that “America’s worst nightmare” is . . . the possibility that jailed Unabomber Ted Kaczynski may have secretly fathered a child.

Sure, that’s what keeps me awake at night.

There’s a wealth of speculative, fanciful, thin-as-air and barely-there shock-horror stories in this week’s tabloids.

Bernie Sanders could be a Russian spy, “flipped" during a 1988 visit to Moscow, says the Enquirer. “Vlad's been pulling Bernie’s strings for decades,” a former Secret Service agent, evidently on first name terms with Russian premier Putin, reportedly tells the Enquirer.

Actress and singer Cher “shares her dying secrets” in a new memoir, and the National Enquirer has all the details - except she hasn’t written the book yet.

The unwritten memoir also reportedly reveals “why she didn’t have sex with Elvis Presley and Marlon Brando.” Hopefully we can look forward to sequels in which Cher reveals she didn’t have sex with Albert Einstein, O.J. Simpson, and Bernie Sanders. Read the rest

Exclusive: Snowden intelligence docs reveal UK spooks' malware checklist

Sherl
Boing Boing is proud to publish two original documents disclosed by Edward Snowden, in connection with "Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Extraordinary Rendition," a short story written for Laura Poitras's Astro Noise exhibition, which runs at NYC's Whitney Museum of American Art from Feb 5 to May 1, 2016.

The 27th amendment was ratified largely because a college student got a C on a term paper

2016-02-01-podcast-episode-92-the-forgotten-amendment-600x399

For a government class in 1982, college sophomore Gregory Watson argued that a long-forgotten constitutional amendment could still be ratified. His instructor found this implausible and gave him a C on the assignment. In this week's episode of the Futility Closet podcast we'll follow Watson's 10-year mission to prove his professor wrong -- and ultimately get the amendment added to the Constitution.

We'll also learn an underhanded way to win a poetry contest and puzzle over how someone can murder a corpse.

Show notes

Please support us on Patreon! Read the rest

This week in games: inactivity, brutalism, The Witness and more

thewitness
Zoya Street, curator of Critical Distance, offers slow reflections on the fast-paced world of digital play…

First Second Books: a look back at ten years of world-changing graphic publishing

FirstSecond_books-1
First Second Books celebrates its tenth anniversary in 2016. From its inception, First Second was known for high quality graphic novels – books that told great stories for every age of reader, from kids to adults. Throughout the years, First Second has published graphic novels as diverse as Gene Luen Yang’s American Born Chinese, Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost, Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamai’s This One Summer, Lucy Knisley’s Relish, and Faith Erin Hicks’ Friends With Boys. And First Second has broken ground with its publishing, bringing unprecedented acceptance and awards to the graphic novel form for kids and parents, teachers and librarians. The graphic novel market looks much different today than it did ten years ago!

Abusing the Internet of Things: Blackouts, Freakouts, and Stakeouts

5159177886_1276e96f54_b
Nitesh Dhanjani's 2015 O'Reilly book Abusing the Internet of Things: Blackouts, Freakouts, and Stakeouts is a very practical existence-proof of the inadequacy and urgency of Internet of Things security.

Teaching students at a Co-Op City public school to make pollution-fighting robots

animation
NYU associate professor Natalie Jeremijenko brought her Feral Robot Dogs project to twenty-nine of our gifted and special-needs students at New York City's PS 153.

Charlie Jane Anders's All the Birds in the Sky: smartass, soulful novel

bg2
All the Birds in the Sky is everything you could ask for in a debut novel -- a fresh look at science fiction's most cherished memes, ruthlessly shredded and lovingly reassembled.

JOHN WILCOCK: Andy Warhol's Mole People and Fred Herko's Suicide Dance (1964)

Freddy Herko by Ethan Persoff and Scott Marshall
A comic strip about Freddie Herko, who was a captivating and influential artist in New York, until his untimely death at age 28, in 1964. From John Wilcock, New York Years. (Supplements include Andy Warhol's screen test of Herko and an appreciation from The Guardian)

More posts