California sues Trump over climate-warming tailpipe emissions rollback

California and 23 other states are suing to stop the Trump administration's shocking legal reversal of states' authority to set their own rules on climate-warming tailpipe emissions.

Proud to be in California today.

States joining the California lawsuit include:

• Colorado
• Illinois
• Maryland
• Massachusetts
• Nevada
• North Carolina
• New Mexico
• New York
• Oregon
• Washington
• Wisconsin
• Pennsylvania
• Michigan

From Coral Davenport at the New York Times:

The lawsuit represents the starting gun in a sweeping legal battle over states' rights and climate change that is likely be resolved only once it reaches the Supreme Court. The decision could ultimately have wide-ranging repercussions affecting states' control over their own environmental laws, the volume of pollution produced by the United States, and the future of the nation's auto industry.

All the state attorneys general signing on to the suit are Democrats, but they represent several states that Mr. Trump won in 2016. States joining the lawsuit include Colorado, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, North Carolina, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Washington, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Michigan.

"This is the fight of a lifetime for us," said Mary Nichols, California's top climate change official. "I believe we will win."

The two top Trump administration officials overseeing the move proudly defended it at a Thursday morning news conference at the Washington headquarters of the Environmental Protection Agency.

Read more:
California Sues the Trump Administration in Its Escalating War Over Auto Emissions

[via @kylegriffin1, image: Shutterstock]